Heidelberg in the 1800's

A Little About Us...

A brief bit of history might interest the weary traveller who seeks the luxury of home-cooked meals and comfortable furnishings.
Our house was built in 1903, and used as living quarters for children orphaned during the Second Anglo-Boer War, which lasted from 1899 to 1902.

Thereafter, the house was used as a dormitory for the College of Education, and in 1981, it was remodelled to ensure comfort, although the original building and woodwork was left intact, to ensure that the charming Cape-Dutch personality of the house lives on.

Nico and Louisa van Huyssteen bought the house in 2003, and started the time-consuming process of renovating a rather run-down house into the jewel that it is today.